Google search engineGoogle search engine
HomeNewsSnowmobile Hall of Fame's 50th Anniversary of Eagle River Exhibit

Snowmobile Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary of Eagle River Exhibit

Larry Coltom's 1976 Arctic Cat Sno Pro S/MII

As part of the celebration of the 50th Eagle River Derby, the Snowmobile Hall of Fame in St. Germain, Wis. will over a very special exhibit starting Nov. 1, 2012 and running through March 2013. It will feature historic Derby sleds, drivers, teams, factories and other memorabilia regarding the famous Eagle River Track over the last 50 years.

Here are just some of the historic sleds featured in this special exhibit:


1939 Eliason, class winner 1964, driver by Ray Keilcheski of Three Lakes, WI.

1964 Polaris Sno-Traveler, driven by Charles Robison of Crandon, WI (team mate of Stan Hayes on that historic first Derby.  Stan was the first Derby winner but his sled does not exist any longer).

1967 Ski-Doo with a special motor from Rotax driven to Championship by Duane Frandsen, Pembine, WI.

1971 World Championship Yamaha 433 driven by Mike Trapp, Woodruff, WI.

1973 Ski-Doo Mod II class championship sled driven by Mike Trapp, Woodruff, WI.

1975 Merc Sno-Twister driven by Doug Hayes, Crandon, WI.

1976 Arctic Cat driven by Larry Coltom, MN 340 SMII (Shown at the top of this page.) Larry won 250 Mod same year.

1978 Polaris IFS 440 triple, driven by Jerry Bunke.  One of the rare original Midnight Blue Express sleds.

1979 Scorpion racer driven to 3rd place finish, ER World Championship 1980.

1981 Arctic Cat racer driven by Bob Elsner, New London, WI, the 1979 ER WC.

1982 Ski-Doo off-set IFS racer driven several season at Eagle River by Frans Rosenquist, MN.

1984 Neilsen Ent. Phantom driven by Jim Dimmerman, White Bear Lake, MN to WC.

1988 Pepsi Ski-Doo Twin Track driven by Bobby Donahue of Wisconsin Rapids, WI to WC.

1991 Ski-Doo Twin Track driven by Greg Goodwin, Zion, IL to WC.

1992 McDonalds-Dennis Kirk Ski-doo Twin ER WC qualifier driven by Bob Anderson, Racine, WI crashed out (with help) in 2 seconds.

1996 Mondus MC-4 Yamaha powered racer driven by Scott Mondus, Lakeview, MN.  First Yamaha in WC in 20 years.  Only 3 of these sleds were built and 2 qualified for WC!

1998 Wahl Bros Special Twin driven by ER WC Terry Wahl of Greenbush, MN, also a winner of the $50,000 Super Sled bonus.

2002 and 2003 Arctic Cats driven to consecutive WC championships by PJ Wandershied, Sauk Center, MN.

2005 and 2007 Arctic Cats driven to WC by Houghton, MI driver Gary Moyle.

2012 Erv’s Sales Polaris driven by Nick Vanstrydonk of Tomahawk, WI to the ER WC.


In addition to these sleds, several more are expected to be confirmed along with photos, drivers suits, helmets and other Derby memorabilia.  Historic videos will also by playing.

This Derby 50th anniversary special exhibit is the largest single exhibit ever attempted by the SHOF in its 30-year history.

CLICK HERE for more info.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular